Report: Seven cities bidding to host '18, '19, '20 national title games

Publish date:

At least seven cities will bid for the right to host the College Football Playoff national championship game in 2018, 2019 or 2020, reports’s Brett McMurphy.

According to the report, Atlanta, Charlotte, Jacksonville, South Florida, Minnesota, San Antonio, and Santa Clara, Calif. will put in bids to host the game.

Minnesota and Atlanta are expected to have new stadiums built by the time the 2018 game is played. Sun Life Stadium in Miami, where the Orange Bowl is played, is currently undergoing a $400 million renovation, while Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara opened last July and will host Super Bowl 50 next February.

Seven more cities are considering bids as well. The deadline to submit a bid is the end of May, and the winning cities are expected to be announced in October.

STAPLES: Possible motives behind freshman ineligibility push

The undecided cities include Indianapolis, Houston, New York/New Jersey, New Orleans, Orlando, Pasadena, Calif, and Arlington, Texas, which hosted the first national title game in January.

The 2016 National Championship game will played at University of Phoenix Stadium, the site of Super Bowl XLIX, on Jan. 11, 2016. The Orange Bowl and the Cotton Bowl will have the semifinals.

Raymond James Stadium in Tampa will host the 2017 game on Jan. 9.

Semifinal games in 2018 will be played at the Rose and Sugar Bowls, while the Orange and Cotton Bowls will host semifinals in 2019. The Fiesta and Peach bowls will precede the national championship game in 2020.

- Scooby Axson