Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky wins Naismith Trophy

Wisconsin power forward Frank Kaminsky has won the Naismith College Player of the Year award for the 2014-15 season. 
Publish date:

Wisconsin power forward Frank Kaminsky has won the Naismith College Player of the Year award for the 2014-15 season.

Kaminsky, who helped lead his team to an upset victory over Kentucky in the Final Four on Saturday, previously won AP Player of the Year as well as the Oscar Robertson Trophy

The senior forward has averaged 18.7 points and 8.1 rebounds per game this season. Wisconsin won the regular season and postseason Big Ten titles and will face Duke in the national title game on Monday night. 

Other finalists for the award were Kentucky junior Willie Cauley-Stein, Notre Dame junior Jerian Grant and Duke freshman Jahlil Okafor

Kaminsky is the third Big Ten player in the last six seasons to win the Naismith award, following Michigan guard Trey Burke in 2013 and Ohio State guard Evan Turner in 2010. 

Kaminsky recorded 20 points and 11 rebounds in the Badgers' 71-64 victory over Kentucky. He has averaged 22.2 points in five NCAA tournament games this season. 

- Stanley Kay