Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky wins Wooden Award

Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky has won the Wooden Award. 
Publish date:

Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky has won the John R. Wooden Award, given to college basketball’s most outstanding player.

The award caps a remarkable season for Kaminsky, who is the second straight senior to win the honor after Creighton’s Doug McDermott took home the award last season. He is the third player from the Big Ten Conference to win the Wooden Award in the last six seasons.

Kaminsky also won AP National Player of the Year, the Naismith Award and was a unanimous choice for first team All-America by the Associated Press.

Kentucky junior forward Willie Cauley-Stein, Notre Dame senior guard Jerian Grant and Ohio State freshman guard D'Angelo Russell were the other finalists.

Kaminsky led the Badgers to a 36-4 record this season and a victory over previously unbeaten Kentucky in the national semifinals of the NCAA tournament.

The Badgers lost to Duke 68-63 in the National Championship game. Kaminsky had 21 points and 11 rebounds in the loss.

DAVIS: Virginia, UNC, Kentucky lead Way-Too-Early Top 25

Kaminsky averaged 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, and 2.6 assists per game this season, hitting 55.3 percent of his shots from the field, including 42 percent from 3-point range.

- Scooby Axson