Skip to main content

How Many National Championships Has Clemson Won?

Clemson is headed back to the national championship and looks to win their third title.

Clemson, ranked No. 2 in the country, is returning to the national championship.

The Tigers defeated No. 3 Notre Dame 30–3 in the Cotton Bowl to advance to the title game. It wasn't too long ago since Clemson last appeared in the national championship, beating Alabama 35–31 in a dramatic win in 2016.

Clemson's 2016 victory over the Crimson Tide marked its second title in school history, with the first coming in 1981. The Tigers went 12–0 that year before defeating Nebraska 22–15 in the Orange Bowl under Hall of Fame coach Danny Ford.

Current head coach Dabo Swinney will lead the Tigers to the championship for the third time during his tenure at Clemson. In the national title game, Tigers will face a familiar foe: Alabama. 

Scroll to Continue

SI Recommends

The Crimson Tide are looking to defend their national title, having beaten Georgia in last year's College Football Playoff championship game. Alabama beat Clemson in the semifinals last season, a year after Clemson beat Alabama in the title game. 

This year's meeting between Clemson and Alabama marks the third time in four seasons that the two progams have met in the national championship game, and the fourth consecutive season that the two schools have met at some point during the College Football Playoff. 

The College Football Playoff National Championship will be played on Jan. 7 at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.