Publish date:

Vince Young, Joe Thomas Among 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class

Joe Thomas, Vince Young, Raghib "The Rocket" Ismail among players in the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

Former Wisconsin offensive lineman Joe Thomas and Texas quarterback Vince Young are among the 13 players to be selected for enshrinement to the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Monday.

The other enshriness include Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Florida State defensive back Terrell Buckley, Oklahoma defensive back Rickey Dixon, John Carroll linebacker London Fletcher, Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green, North Carolina State receiver Torry Holt, Arizona State quarterback Jake Plummer, USC defensive back Troy Polamalu, Michigan State running back Lorenzo White and Mississippi linebacker Patrick Willis. 

Dennis Erickson, who coached two national championship teams at Miami and Joe Taylor, a coach at historically black colleges such as Hampton and Florida A&M also were inducted.

Also inducted as an honorary member is the Goodyear Blimp, the first non-player or coach to be recognized by the Hall.

SI Recommends

Before embarking on an 11-year career with the Cleveland Browns, Thomas started for three seasons with the Badgers, winning the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman and earning first-team All-American honors in 2006.

Young had brilliant career with Texas, finishing with a 30–2 career record.

He led the Longhorns to 2006 BCS National Championship over USC in one of the best championship performances in history. Against the Trojans, Young threw for 267 passing and ran for 200 yards and three rushing touchdowns, inclduing the go-ahead 9-yard touchdown with 19 seconds left en route to a 41–38 victory.