Skip to main content
Publish date:

Report: Ole Miss Vacates 33 Wins After NCAA Violations

Ole Miss athletic director Ross Bjork described the penalty as 'the last part of this process' at a town hall meeting.

Ole Miss athletic director Ross Bjork says the school will vacate 33 football wins from six seasons between 2010 and 2016 after using ineligible players during games.

Bjork was quoted at a town hall meeting with fans in Cleveland, Miss. discussing the violations.

“It’s the last part of this process,” Bjork said, according to “In a way it’s just a piece of paper because you saw those games.”

The punishment stems from 15 Level I violation under former head coach Hugh Freeze, which included recruiting and academic violations and some under previous coach Houston Nutt.

SI Recommends

The school will vacate four wins from the 2010 season, two from 2011, seven each from the 2012 and 2015 seasons, eight from 2014 and five from 2016. The vacated wins are treated as if they never took place.

No victories were taken from the 2015 season, which ended with a Sugar Bowl win over Oklahoma State, because offensive tackle Laremy Tunsil, who was among the players ruled ineligible for receiving impermissible benefits, was suspended by the NCAA for the first seven games of that season.

Freeze's record at Ole Miss, which was 39–25 during his five seasons, now stands officially at 12–25.

As a result of the NCAA investigation, Ole Miss received a two-year postseason ban, three years of probation and was stripped of scholarships over four years.

Freeze, who resigned from Ole Miss in 2017, is now the head coach at Liberty