The Periodic Table of the Tour de France: 'Le Tour Des Merveilles'

Friday July 11th, 2014

Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

Artist Johnny Joannou has created the Periodic Table of every Tour de France winner — 'Le Tour Des Merveilles' — illustrating the event's inaugural race victor in 1903, Maurice Garin, all the way up to last year's champion, Chris Froome. Each element on the table is represented by the winning athlete's initials, and the numbers in the left and right corners represent distance in kilometers and average speed in kilometers per hour, respectively, instead of an element's atomic number and mass. The artist made the print both with and without Lance Armstrong's victories in the table to depict the official Tour de France results.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.