Skip to main content

Wells Fargo Championship tee times

No. 2-ranked Justin Thomas, who won the 2017 PGA at Quail Hollow, pairs with No. 11 Viktor Hovland, No. 12 Patrick Cantlay

Three of the top 12 players in the world will be paired together when the Wells Fargo Championship begins Thursday in Charlotte, N.C., the PGA Tour announced Tuesday.

No. 2-ranked Justin Thomas of the U.S. will tee off at 7:34 a.m. EDT Thursday on the 10th tee at Quail Hollow Club with No. 11 Viktor Hovland of Norway and No. 12 Patrick Cantlay of the U.S. Thomas won the 2017 PGA Championship at Quail Hollow. All three players have won this season.

No. 5 Bryson DeChambeau, the reigning U.S. Open champion, will be making his first start since a T-46 result at the Masters. He will be paired with No. 4 Xander Schauffele, a fellow American, and Chile’s Joaquin Niemann at 12:43 p.m. on No. 1.

In another power pairing, No. 3-ranked Jon Rahm of Spain will join No. 9 Webb Simpson of the U.S. and American Max Homa at 7:23 a.m. on the 10th tee.


Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, who is ranked 15th and is the only two-time winner at the Wells Fargo, will be paired with Americans Patrick Reed, ranked seventh in the world, and Stewart Cink at 12:54 p.m. on No. 1.

Earlier Tuesday, Brendon Todd withdrew after having tested positive for COVID-19. He was replaced by first alternate J.J. Spaun.

The tournament will feature six of the top 10-ranked players in the Official World Golf Ranking. (For a look at the tee times, click here.)

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.