March 02, 2015

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) Kentucky Derby-winning jockeys Chris Antley, Victor Espinoza and Craig Perret are among the 10 finalists for election to the National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame.

The field is rounded out by jockey Corey Nakatani, trainers King Leatherbury and David Whiteley, and thoroughbreds Black Tie Affair, Kona Gold, Lava Man and Xtra Heat.

The four with the most votes will be inducted during a ceremony at the museum in Saratoga Springs on Aug. 7.

Antley, who died of a drug overdose in 2000, won the Derby in 1991 with Strike the Gold and in 1999 with Charismatic. Perret won the 1990 Derby aboard Unbridled. Espinoza won the first two legs of the Triple Crown with War Emblem in 2002 and California Chrome last year. Nakatani has won 3,766 races, many at California tracks.

Leatherbury ranks fourth all time with 6,449 wins. Whiteley trained the champions Revidere, Waya and Just A Game.

You May Like