When was the last Triple Crown winner?

Friday May 15th, 2015

The Triple Crown is the pinnacle of Thoroughbred racing, a rare feat that has only been achieved 11 times.

After winning both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, American Pharoah has a chance to become the first Triple Crown winner since 1978 if the horse can win the Belmont Stakes in June. 

There have been many Triple Crown near-misses over the years, including in two of the last three years. In 2012, I'll Have Another won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness before being scratched the day before the Belmont Stakes due to tendonitis.

Last year, California Chrome won the Crown's first two races and was the morning favorite at Belmont. However, the horse bumped with another horse out of the gate and wound up finishing in fourth place. 

Here is the full Triple Crown winner history:

1919  Sir Barton 
1930  Gallant Fox 
1935  Omaha 
1937  War Admiral 
1941  Whirlaway 
1943  Count Fleet
1946  Assault 
1948  Citation
1973  Secretariat 
1977  Seattle Slew
1978  Affirmed

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.