American Pharoah wins Breeders’ Cup Classic in final race

0:54 | Horse Racing
American Pharoah wins racing's first ever 'Grand Slam'
Saturday October 31st, 2015

American Pharoah won the 2015 Breeders’ Cup Classic on Saturday. 

It was the last race for American Pharoah, which won horse racing’s first Triple Crown since 1978 earlier this year. With the win, Pharoah became the first horse to win a Triple Crown and the Breeders’ Cup. The Classic wasn't run until 1984, so American Pharoah is the only Triple Crown winner who had the opportunity.

American Pharoah went off as the 3-5 betting favorite. Effinex finished second, Honor Code finished third and Travers Stakes winner Keen Ice came in fourth. 

The Breeders’ Cup win was the third for jockey Victor Espinoza. Trainer Bob Baffert won the Classic for the second year in a row after saddling Bayern a year ago.

Pharoah has participated in three races since the Belmont Stakes, winning the Haskell Invitational and coming in second at the Travers Stakes before the Breeders’ Cup. The horse will retire as one of the most accomplished in the history of the sport. 

- Rohan Nadkarni


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.