Photo by Horsephotos/Getty Images

Here is the full list of Triple Crown winners, including American Pharoah

By SI Wire
May 19, 2016

Last year, American Pharoah became the 12th horse, and the first since Affirmed in 1978, to win the Triple Crown.

This year's hope for a Triple Crown is Nyquist, the winner of the Kentucky Derby and the betting favorite heading into Saturday's Preakness Stakes. Nyquist seeks to become just the second horse to win the Triple Crown the year after another horse accomplished the feat. 

Check out the past Triple Crown winners below:

2015 - American Pharoah

1978 - Affirmed

1977 - Seattle Slew

1973 - Secretariat

1948 - Citation

1946 - Assault

1943 - Count Fleet

1941 - Whirlaway

1937 - War Admiral

1935 - Omaha

1930 - Gallant Fox

1919 - Sir Barton

You May Like