What time is the Kentucky Derby?

1:31 | More Sports
Why Kentucky Derby horses are worth much more off the track
Friday May 5th, 2017

The 143rd running of the Kentucky Derby takes place Saturday afternoon at Churchill Downs in Louisville.

The post time for the main race is 6:34 p.m. E.T. The races will be broadcast on NBC from 2:30 p.m. to 7:20 p.m. ET.

Last year's race was won by Nyquist with jockey Mario Gutierrez. Nyquist did not win the Preakness Stakes and did not race in the Belmont Stakes.

American Pharoah won the previous year and went on to win the Triple Crown. There is a $2 million guaranteed purse.

How to watch

Race: The race will begin at 6:34 p.m. ET

TV Channel: NBC

Live stream: NBC Live Extra

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.