Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw, Indians' Corey Kluber win Cy Young Awards

Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw was named the winner of the National League Cy Young Award Wednesday. Corey Kluber of the Indians won the American League award. 
Publish date:

Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw was named the winner of the National League Cy Young Award on Wednesday. Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians won the American League award. 

Kershaw won the Cy Young for the second straight season and the third time in four years. He finished second in the voting in 2012.

The left-hander led the majors in a variety of categories. He had an MLB-best 21 wins, a 1.77 ERA, 0.857 WHIP, 10.8 strikeouts per nine innings and six complete games. Kershaw also threw a no-hitter on June 18. He is widely considered the leading candidate for the NL's Most Valuable Player Award, which will be announced Thursday. 

Johnny Cueto of the Cincinnati Reds finished second in the voting, followed by the St. Louis Cardinals' Adam Wainwright. 

White Sox' Jose Abreu, Mets' Jacob deGrom win Rookie of the Year

Kluber had a significantly stronger second half of the season, recording a 3.01 ERA before the All-Star break and a 1.73 ERA after it, and finished by averaging 13 strikeouts over his final three starts of the season. He finished the year with a 2.35 FIP (fielding independent pitching), the best in the AL.

Seattle Mariners pitcher Felix Hernandez, who won the award in 2010, finished second in AL voting. He went 15-6 this season with an AL-best 2.14 ERA and also led the AL with a 0.915 WHIP.

VERDUCCI: Free agent market may reflect diminishing value of starting pitchers

- Dan Gartland