Albert Pujols, Todd Frazier, Kris Bryant highlight Home Run Derby participants.

By SI Wire
July 08, 2015

The 2015 Home Run Derby participants were announced by Major League Baseball on Wednesday.

The Home Run Derby will be held on July 13 at the Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati and will be televised by ESPN.

The eight players who will compete in the derby are Albert Pujols (26 home runs), Todd Frazier (25 home runs), Josh Donaldson (21 home runs), Joc Pederson (20 home runs), Manny Machado (19 home runs), Anthony Rizzo (16 home runs), Prince Fielder (13 home runs) and Kris Bryant (12 home runs).

The 35-year-old Pujols leads the American League with 26 home runs and is participating in the Derby for the fourth time. 

Giancarlo Stanton, who leads all of MLB with 27 home runs, will not take part in the competition. Stanton has been on the disabled list since June 27 with a left wrist fracture and is expected to be out for at least four more weeks.

Detroit Tigers slugger Yoenis Cespedes, who has won the Home Run Derby in each of the last two seasons, will not participate either.

Frazier reached the finals of last year's derby, where he lost to Cespedes. The Cincinnati Reds third baseman will be competing in his home ballpark this year.

MORE MLB: Building AL's top All-Star team | Building NL's top All-Star team

Fielder is a two-time winner (2009 and 2012) of the derby. This year's field features two rookies in Pederson and Bryant.

Cubs manager Joe Maddon said earlier this week that he would rather Bryant and Rizzo not take part in the Home Run Derby, but added that he would not tell his players what to do.

On Monday, Washington Nationals rightfielder Bryce Harper, who has hit 25 home runs this year, told reporters he will not participate in the derby. Seattle Mariners outfielder Nelson Cruz also recently declined an invitation.

This year's Home Run Derby will be held under a new bracket format that features timed rounds. Seeding of the eight participants was determined by home run totals as of July 7.

MLB's Statcast technology will have the official measurement of all Derby homers and any batter who hits two homers 420 feet or longer during a turn will get one minute of bonus time added. For any home run that travels at least 475 feet, 30 seconds will be added.

- Molly Geary and Scooby Axson

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)