Umpire Incorrectly Calls Pete Crow-Armstrong Safe Using His Helmet to Stay on Second

You never know what you're going to see at the ballpark.

The Chicago Cubs and New York Mets played a day game at Citi Field on Thursday. In the top of the second inning, Cubs rookie Pete Crow-Armstrong hit a double to right field that scored Patrick Wisdom.

As Crow-Armstrong ran the base paths, his helmet started to fall off so he grabbed it before sliding into second. Then things got really weird. Crow-Armstrong tried to do a pop-up slide, but failed to pop. Instead, he slid over second and came off the bag as Joey Wendle caught the throw from Starling Marte.

In danger of getting tagged out, Crow-Armstrong used his helmet to touch second base and was called safe.

The amazing thing about baseball is that it's been around for 150 or so years and you still witness things that you have never seen before. Which is why the Mets' broadcast booth was legitimately confused about whether it was the right call or not.

Eventually, reporter Steve Gelbs confirmed with Major League Baseball that it was the wrong call and Crow-Armstrong should have been called out.

Crow-Armstrong, 22, might actually be trying out new material as a baseball prop comic during this series. During Wednesday's game, he got his bat caught in the protective netting and it just looked like it was levitating.

The Cubs return home to host the Milwaukee Brewers on Friday. Can't wait to see what Crow-Armstrong has in store for the fans.


Published
Stephen Douglas

STEPHEN DOUGLAS

Stephen Douglas is a Senior Writer on the Breaking & Trending News Team at Sports Illustrated. He has been in journalism and media since 2008, and now casts a wide net with coverage across all sports. Stephen spent more than a decade with The Big Lead and has previously written for Uproxx and The Sporting News. He has three children, two degrees and one now unverified Twitter account.