Skip to main content

Zabriskie wins 7th national time trial pro title

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Dave Zabriskie won his seventh national time trials title and second straight at the USA Cycling Pro Championship.

Zabriskie covered the 20.7 mile course in 40 minutes, 41.22 seconds on Saturday in Greenville, S.C. He beat Tejay Van Garderen's time of 40:47.90. Brent Bookwalter was third, Thomas Zirbel fourth and Nathaniel English fifth.

Zabriskie rides for the Garmin-Barracuda team. He has always been at his best in time trials and showed that again in Greenville. He won this title in 2004, then from 2006-2009. He regained the crown in 2011 and defended that title this year.

Zabriskie is entered in Monday's 115-mile road race. Matthew Busche is the defending champion, having outsprinted veteran racer George Hincapie at the line to win in 2011.