Basketball Hall of Fame announces class of 2015 finalists

Saturday February 14th, 2015

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday announced its list of 12 finalists for the class of 2015.

The finalists are longtime NBA referee Dick Bavetta, Kentucky coach John Calipari, Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan, former NBA coach Bill Fitch, former NBA guard Tim Hardaway, former NBA guard Jo Jo White, former NBA guard Kevin Johnson, former NBA forward Spencer Haywood, former NBA center Dikembe Mutombo, former WNBA forward Lisa Leslie and high school coaches Leta Andrews and Robert Hughes.

In addition to the finalists, the hall of fame also announced five direct-elect members for the class of 2015. Those members are ABA points leader Louie Dampeer, Austrialia player and coach Lindsay Gaze, former Celtics player and coach Tommy Heinsohn, New York Renaissance player John Isaacs and former college coach George Raveling.

“The finalists for the Class of 2015 are a group of very distinguished individuals who have each made a unique impact on the game of basketball,” Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, said in a news release.  “To be recognized as a Finalist is a great achievement in and of itself and each of the Finalists recognized today should be very proud. Although the process of selecting the final class members of 2015 will be a difficult task, we look forward to making the announcement at the Final Four in April.”

A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee to be elected. The class will be announced on April 6 and enshrined in Springfield, Mass., on Sept. 10-11.

• GOLLIVER: NBA All-Star Saturday preview

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.