Kyle Korver: Atlanta Hawks G wins 2014-15 NBA Sportsmanship Award - Sports Illustrated

Hawks guard Kyle Korver wins 2014-15 NBA Sportsmanship Award

Hawks All-Star guard Kyle Korver has been named the 2014-15 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner
Publish date:

The NBA named Atlanta Hawks All-Star guard Kyle Korver the 2014-15 Sportsmanship Award winner, becoming the first Hawks player to win the award, the NBA announced Wednesday.'s 2015 NBA playoffs coverage

There are six divisional winners for the award, which is voted on by the players. The trophy is named after former Detroit Pistons guard and Basketball Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, who was the award's first recipient.

Memphis Grizzlies guard Mike Conley won the award last season.

Korver received 87 first place votes to beat out Toronto Raptors forward Amir Johnson (Atlantic Division), Chicago Bulls center Pau Gasol (Central), Oklahoma City Thunder forward Nick Collison (Northwest), Los Angeles Lakers guard Jeremy Lin (Pacific) and New Orleans Pelicans forward Anthony Davis (Southwest).

The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on Korver’s behalf to the charity his of choice, Helping Hand Rescue Mission. The league will also donate $5,000 each to charity of choice for the other five divisional winners.

On the court, Korver averaged 12.1 points, 4.1 rebounds and shot 49 percent from the three-point line during the regular season for the Hawks, who had the Eastern Conference’s best record.

Although Korver is averaging 14 points in the four games of the team's first-round playoff series against the Brooklyn Nets, he is only shooting 40 percent from the field and 33 percent from beyond the arc.

The best-of-seven series is tied at two games apiece. Game 5 is Wednesday in Atlanta.

- Scooby Axson