Officials admit to missing crucial call in Knicks’ win over Raptors

Wednesday November 11th, 2015

Officials have admitted to missing a critical call late in the fourth quarter of the New York Knicks’ two-point win over the Toronto Raptors Tuesday night. 

With the Knicks leading 106–105 with less than 25 seconds remaining, Carmelo Anthony received an inbound pass. Pivoting around three defenders, Anthony passed the ball to Lance Thomas, who was fouled by the Raptors and went on to make both free throws, giving the Knicks a three–point lead with 17 seconds remaining. But before Anthony passed the ball, he appeared to step out of bounds. 

After the game, the referees acknowledged the mistake.

“When we came in, we reviewed the play,” crew chief Ed Malloy told pool reporter Eric Koreen. “We did see Anthony step out of bounds and should’ve awarded the ball to Toronto.”

The play did not fall within the NBA’s instant replay guidelines and therefore was not reviewable.

Following the game, Raptors head coach Dwane Casey said he saw Anthony step out of bounds with his own eyes, adding “it’s a tough game to officate.”

WOO: Competitive balance returns to the Eastern Conference

Anthony, who finished with 25 points for the night, did not want to discuss the the situation.

“I don’t want to see it. I’m getting out of here. Ain’t no need for me to look back and watch it. It’s over with. I don’t even know if I did it,” he said. “Probably, but we’re getting out of here with the win.”

With the loss, the Raptors are now on a three game losing streak. The are set to take on the Philadelphia 76ers on Wednesday night.

The Knicks improved their record to 4–4. They face the Charlotte Hornets on the road on Wednesday.


- Xandria James


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.