Skip to main content

LaVine, Drummond, Barton and Gordon in NBA Slam Dunk Contest

Andre Drummond, Will Barton and Aaron Gordon will try to dethrone Zach LaVine as the NBA Dunk Contest champion.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Defending champion Zach LaVine of the Minnesota Timberwolves will be joined by Detroit Pistons center Andre Drummond, Denver Nuggets guard Will Barton and Orlando Magic forward Aaron Gordon in this year’s NBA Dunk Contest , the NBA announced Thursday.

At 19, LaVine became the youngest player to win the contest, since Kobe Bryant won as an 18-year-old in 1997.

The Dunk Contest will be held on Saturday, Feb. 13 in Toronto. Sports Illustratedbroke down the 10 biggest All-Star Game snubs and the rosters for both conferences.

Zach LaVine dominates Slam Dunk Contest: Dunk-by-dunk grades

SI Recommends

Watch Lavine’s winning dunk from last year's contest below:

The NBA is expected to announce the finalized dunk contest fields on Thursday. To learn more, you can read Sports Illustrated features on two participants: Drummond and Barton.