NBA: No foul on last possession in Warriors' win at Memphis

NEW YORK (AP) The NBA says referees were correct in not calling a foul against Golden State on Memphis' final possession, when a score by the Grizzlies could have ended the Warriors' bid for a record 73 victories.

Lance Stephenson missed twice in the closing seconds Saturday as the Warriors held on for a 100-99 victory that made them 71-9 with two games remaining. Commentators said Stephenson may have been fouled on the second one, when he launched a contested jumper from the corner that hit the side of the backboard.

But in its review of the last 2 minutes Sunday, the league says that both Klay Thompson and Stephen Curry maintained a legal guarding position on Stephenson's initial drive. Both players then made contact with Stephenson when he regained the ball and shot his jumper, but the league says that Stephenson created the incidental contact with Thompson by kicking his leg out, and that Curry made only incidental contact with Stephenson after the shot was taken.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.