NBA says Russell Westbrook was fouled before game-sealing layup

1:26 | NBA
Would Spurs give Warriors a tougher matchup than Thunder in Western Conference Finals?
Wednesday May 11th, 2016

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

In its Last Two Minute Report, the NBA said that Russell Westbrook was fouled by Kawhi Leonard before his game-sealing and-one layup in Tuesday’s Game 5 win.

With Oklahoma City leading 92–91 and nine seconds remaining, Westbrook caught an inbounds pass and within seconds was wrapped around the waist by Leonard, who was attempting to commit an intentional foul.

Referees did not blow the whistle, and Westbrook continued his dribble, going to the basket and scoring an and-one layup over LaMarcus Aldridge to give the Thunder an eventual four-point lead and seal the game. 

MORE NBA: The Russell Westbrook Experience remains a roller coaster

The league said Leonard should have been granted the take foul, but that the foul called on Aldridge was correct. 

“[Leonard] pretty obviously fouled him,” Gregg Popovich said after the game. “But every call doesn’t get called.”

The Thunder take a 3–2 series lead with Game 6 in Oklahoma City. Westbrook finished with 35 points, 11 rebounds and nine assists. Leonard had 26 points, six rebounds, four assists and five steals to pace the Spurs.

– Kenny Ducey

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.