Spoelstra, D'Antoni share NBCA Coach of the Year award

Miami's Erik Spoelstra and Houston's Mike D'Antoni are the co-winners of the National Basketball Coaches Association's coach of the year award.

The inaugural award, named for longtime NBCA executive director Michael H. Goldberg, is decided in a vote by the league's 30 head coaches. The winners were announced Sunday. The award will be presented to Spoelstra and D'Antoni at the NBCA's annual meeting in September.

Other coaches who received votes from their peers were Washington's Scott Brooks, Memphis' David Fizdale, Golden State's Steve Kerr, Milwaukee's Jason Kidd, San Antonio's Gregg Popovich, the Los Angeles Clippers' Doc Rivers and Utah's Quin Snyder.

The NBA's Coach of the Year award will be announced June 26.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.