John Leyba/Getty Images
By SI Wire
July 08, 2014

At 3-1 odds, reigning NFL Most Valuable Player and Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning is the betting favorite to repeat and win the 2014 MVP award, according to odds provided by Boveda Sportsbook

The Saints' Drew Brees, at 9-2 odds, and the Packers' Aaron Rodgers, at 15-2 odds, are next in line as most likely to claim the award. The top five is rounded out by the Tom Brady of the Patriots (9-1 odds) and Andrew Luck of the Colts (16-1 odds). 

Quarterbacks make up the first seven players on the list. The non-quarterbacks most likely to win MVP are Vikings running back Adrian Peterson and Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson, who both have 25-1 odds of winning. Overall, 16 of the 20 players with the highest odds are quarterbacks, the position that traditionally dominates the award.

Quarterbacks have won six out of the last seven NFL MVP awards, with three of those belonging to Manning (2008, 2009 and 2013) and Peterson, who won it in 2012, holding the lone non-quarterback win during that stretch. 

MORE NFL: Clowney says his goal is to sack Andrew Luck

If Manning were to win the 2014 MVP, it would be his sixth career MVP award. In 2013, he threw an NFL-record 55 touchdowns for the Broncos, while compiling 5,477 passing yards and completing 68.3 percent of his passes. 

Molly Geary


You May Like