Skip to main content

Cowboys cut RB Williams, get DE Edwards in trade

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

IRVING, Texas (AP) The Dallas Cowboys waived running back Ryan Williams and receivers LaRon Byrd and Jamar Newsome on Saturday while acquiring defensive end Lavar Edwards in a trade with Tennessee.

Two of the team's five seventh-round draft picks this year were waived: cornerback Terrance Mitchell and linebacker Will Smith. Players who clear waivers will be eligible for the practice squad.

Williams, a 2011 second-round pick who had three injury-filled seasons with Arizona, was Dallas' leading rusher in the preseason but missed the finale with a groin strain. He lost out to second-year player Joseph Randle in the competition to be the third running back.

Byrd and Newsome were the top two receivers in the exhibition games, but the Cowboys went to training camp all but set at the position.

Edwards, taken in the fifth round by the Titans in 2013, was acquired for a seventh-round pick next year. He played in seven games, including one start.

Rookie Dustin Vaughan made the cut and for now is the third quarterback behind Tony Romo and Brandon Weeden. The Cowboys haven't carried three quarterbacks on the 53-man roster since the end of the 2011 season.

As expected, defensive end Anthony Spencer was activated from the physically unable to perform list. He's eligible to practice and play but will miss the Sept. 7 opener against San Francisco.

Cornerback Orlando Scandrick and safety Jakar Hamilton were placed on the suspended list. Both are serving four-game suspensions to start the season for violations of drug policies.

The Cowboys released a pair of veterans in receiver Desmon Briscoe and guard Uche Nwaneri.

Running back Phillip Tanner was waived after the Cowboys added him for the final preseason game against Denver while sitting their top four running backs. D.J. Adams also was let go.

The Cowboys waived defensive linemen Kenneth Boatright, Dartwan Bush and Zach Minter and linebackers Dontavis Sapp, Keith Smith and Orie Lemon.

The other Dallas players waived were offensive linemen Josh Aladenoye, Stephen Goodin and Ronald Patrick; safety Ryan Smith; and tight end Asa Watson.


AP NFL website: and