Karl Walter/Getty Images

The Browns have signed quarterback Thad Lewis, who returns to Cleveland two seasons after his 2011-2012 stint with the team.  

By SI Wire
March 12, 2015

Quarterback Thad Lewis has returned to the Browns, Cleveland general manager Ray Farmer announced on Thursday.

Lewis signed with Houston on Nov. 24 after quarterback Ryan Mallett was lost for the season with a pectoral injury, but he did not appear in any games for the Texans.

He was with the Buffalo Bills in 2013, starting five games. He completed 59.2 percent of his passes for 1,092 yards with four touchdowns and three interceptions in six total appearances.

Lewis was with Cleveland in 2011-2012, playing in one game. After he was waived by Cleveland in May 2013, he was claimed by the Detroit Lions. But in August, he was traded to the Bills. He was cut late in the preseason in 2014 by Buffalo and was unsigned until landing in Houston.

Report: Texans trading QB Ryan Fitzpatrick to Jets

Lewis was an undrafted free agent out of Duke in 2010 and signed with the St. Louis Rams. He spent that season on the active roster, but did not play, and was claimed off waivers by the Browns after leaving St. Louis in the team's final round of cuts in the 2011 preseason.

Cleveland now has three quarterbacks on the roster. In addition to Lewis and Johnny Manziel, the Browns signed free agent Josh McCown after he was released by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Many issues remain unresolved for teams making quarterback changes

Cleveland was 7-9 last season, finishing in last place in the AFC North.

- Phil Watson

You May Like