Referee Walt Coleman announces wrong call in Colts vs. Buccaneers

Sunday November 29th, 2015

A mistake by referee Walt Coleman led to some confusion in Sunday’s game at Lucas Oil Stadium between the Indianapolis Colts and Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

In the third quarter with the Colts leading 16–12, Indianapolis challenged the call on the field of an incomplete catch by wide receiver T.Y. Hilton. After the review, referee Walt Coleman came onto the field to announce the official ruling. 

At first Coleman let the fans of Lucas Oil Stadium know that the ruling was a catch. Coleman quickly realized he announced the wrong ruling and corrected himself, stating that the call on the field stood and the pass was incomplete. The mix up led to a loud reaction from the Indianapolis crowd. 


The Colts settled for a field goal two plays later to extend their lead to seven points. Indianapolis hung on to win, 25–12​, and improved to 6–5 on the season.


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.