November 23, 2012

ZURICH (AP) -- Sweden greats Peter Forsberg and Mats Sundin have been named to the International Ice Hockey Federation's Hall of Fame class for 2013.

The IIHF says the former Olympic and world champions will be inducted in Stockholm in May when their home country hosts the world championship.

Two Canadians will also be inducted: Paul Henderson, star of the 1972 Summit Series against the Soviet Union, and Danielle Goyette, a two-time Olympic champion.

Teppo Numminen of Finland, a three-time Olympic medalist, was the fifth player chosen.

The governing body also selected its former general secretary, Jan-Ake Edvinsson of Sweden, and Canadian broadcaster Gord Miller for induction.

The IIHF is also dedicating a special award to the Soviet Union team which won the inaugural world championship in 1954.

You May Like