Bergeron, Kopitar, Toews named Selke finalists for 2nd straight season

Thursday April 23rd, 2015

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks were named finalists for the Frank J. Selke Trophy for the second straight year, the league announced.

2015 NHL Playoffs: Complete list of television times, schedule, bracket

The Selke award is given to the best defensive forward in the NHL. Bergeron won the award last season, with Kopitar and Toews finishing second and third in the voting, respectively.

Bergeron, who is a Selke finalist for the fourth straight season, led the NHL is face-off wins and face-off winning percentage this past year. Bergeron scored 23 goals and had 32 assists for the Bruins.

Kopitar helped a Los Angeles team that was ranked fourth in defense, allowing only 2.40 goals per game.

He had 16 goals and 48 assists during the 2014-2015 season and was also named a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy, given to the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability."

Kesler scores twice to helps Ducks complete four-game sweep of Jets 

Blackhawks captain Toews is a Selke finalist for the fourth time in five years. He scored 28 goals, assisted on 38 other goals and racked up a career-best +30 rating. Toews won the Selke award in 2012-13.

The winner will be announced June 24 during the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

- Scooby Axson

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.