Montreal Canadiens' Carey Price (31) makes a save against Ottawa Senators' Kyle Turris during the first period of Game 6 of a first-round NHL hockey playoff series Sunday April 26, 2015, in Ottawa, Ontario. (Justin Tang/The Canadian Press via AP) MANDAT
AP Photo
April 29, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) Washington forward Alex Ovechkin, Montreal goalie Carey Price and New York Islanders forward John Tavares are the finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's player most valuable player.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association submitted ballots at the end of the regular season, with the top three designated finalists and announced Wednesday. The winner will be announced June 24 during the league's awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

Ovechkin won the award in 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2012-13. The Russian star scored 53 goals to top the NHL for the third straight season and fifth time overall. He finished with 81 points - his most since 2010-11 - to lead the Capitals to their seventh playoff berth in the past eight seasons.

Price led the NHL in wins (44), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), becoming the first to top all three categories since Ed Belfour in 1990-91.

Tavares had career highs in goals (38) and points (86).

You May Like