Benn, Ovechkin, Price named finalists for Ted Lindsay Award

Wednesday May 6th, 2015

Dallas Stars forward Jamie Benn, Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin and Montreal Canadiens goalie Carey Price have been named the finalists for this year's Ted Lindsay Award, the NHL announced on Tuesday.

The award goes annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the league and is voted on by members of the NHL Players Association.

Benn earned this season's Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's points leader with 87. The Stars captain played through injury for much of the year and finished with 35 goals and 52 assists in an average ice time of 19:57.'s 2014-15 NHL season awards

Ovechkin was also named a Hart Trophy finalist last week. He led the NHL in goals scored for the third straight season and finished with 81 points (53 goals, 28 assists).

Price is a finalist for both the Hart Trophy and the Vezina Trophy, the latter of which is given to the league's best goaltender. He led the NHL in wins (44), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933) this season and broke the Canadiens franchise record for wins in one season.

The winner of this year's Ted Lindsay Award will be announced on June 24 at the 2015 NHL Awards in Las Vegas. 

- Molly Geary


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.