NHL Vezina Trophy finalists include Carey Price, Pekka Rinne - Sports Illustrated

Price, Rinne, Dubnyk named finalists for Vezina Trophy

Carey Price, Pekka Rinne and Devan Dubnyk have been named finalists for the Vezina Trophy.
Publish date:

The Montreal Canadiens' Carey Price, Nashville PredatorsPekka Rinne and Minnesota Wild​'s Devan Dubnyk have been named finalists for the Vezina Trophy, the NHL announced on Friday. 

The award is given annually to the best goalkeeper in the league and is voted on by the NHL's 30 general managers.

All three finalists are on Stanley Cup playoff teams. Price led the NHL in wins (44), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933) this season and broke the Canadiens franchise record for wins in one season. He also tied for second in the league with nine shutouts. 

Rinne went 41-17-6 and finished with a .923 save percentage and 2.18 goals-against average, recording four shutouts. 

Ekblad, Stone, Gaudreau are Calder Trophy finalists

Dubnyk, who was traded to the Wild in January, recorded a .929 save percentage and a 2.07 goals-against average while going a combined 54-36-4 with Minnesota and the Arizona Coyotes. He had six shutouts on the season.

The winner of this year's Vezina​ Trophy will be announced on June 24 at the 2015 NHL Awards in Las Vegas. 

- Molly Geary