Skip to main content

Pacific beats Atlantic 1–0 in All-Star Game final, John Scott wins MVP

The Pacific team defeated the Atlantic team 1–0 in the championship game of the 2016 NHL All-Star Game. John Scott was named MVP.

The Pacific team defeated the Atlantic team 1–0 in the championship game of the 2016 NHL All-Star Game. The winning Pacific team will receive a $1 million award.

Anaheim Ducks forward Corey Perry scored the winning goal, perfectly placing a wrister over the right pad of Tampa Bay Lightning goalie Ben Bishop.

Perry scored again with just under three minutes left in the game. Head coach of the Atlantic team, Florida Panthers coach Gerard Gallant, used a coach’s challenge. After the review of the play, the goal was waved off after Edmonton Oilers forward Taylor Hall was called for goalie interference.

WATCH: John Scott scores twice, wins All-Star Game MVP

This year’s NHL All-Star Game introduced a new tournament format of three 20-minute, 3-on-3 games, rather than the original 60-minute, 5-on-5 game. In Game 1, the Atlantic team beat the Metropolitan team 4–3, while the Pacific team earned their spot in the final game with a 9–6 victory over the Central team.

Despite the multiple goals in the first two games of the tournament, the first period of play in the final remained scoreless between the Pacific and Atlantic. Los Angeles Kings goalie Jonathan Quick and Florida Panthers goalie Roberto Luongo made memorable saves to produce a shutout through the first half of play.

Quick recorded 10 saves, while Luongo tallied 12.

PREWITT: Underneath hijinks, NHL skills competition brings plenty of flair

The All-Star Game MVP was awarded to Pacific team captain John Scott, who was selected to the NHL All-Star Game in an online fan vote. Scott was not listed as a finalist for the award and won as a write-in candidate. Ten NHL teams cast a vote for Scott on Twitter, including the Oilers, who voted for him over their own player, Taylor Hall. Scott tallied two goals in the Pacific team’s game against the Central team.

Each player on the winning Pacific team gets nearly $91,000 of the $1 million prize. Scott received a car for winning MVP.