Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2016: a primer

1:00 | NHL
2016 Hockey Hall of Fame class led by Eric Lindros
Monday June 27th, 2016

The Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee will meet in Toronto on Monday to determine the class of 2016. Here's what you need to know:

UPDATE: The Class of 2016 will include Eric Lindros, Rogie Vachon, Sergei Makarov and, in the builder category, Pat Quinn.

Who: Up to four male and two female inductees in the player category. Up to two inductees in the builder category

How: A player needs the support of 14 of the 18 selection committee members.

When: The announcement is expected around 3:30 p.m. (live stream on

First-year eligible: Roman Hamrlik, Milan Hejduk, Miikka Kiprusoff, Vinny Prospal

Under consideration (male): Dave Andreychuk, Tom Barrasso, Rod Brind'Amour, Vincent Damphousse, Theo Fleury, Curtis Joseph, Paul Kariya, Alexei Kasatonov, Vladimir Krutov, Steve Larmer, John LeClair, Eric Lindros, Sergei Makarov, Alexander Mogilny, Vaclav Nedomansky, Chris Osgood, Mark Recchi, Jeremy Roenick, Keith Tkachuk, Pierre Turgeon, Doug Wilson, Alexander Yakushev, Sergei Zubov

Under consideration (builders): Don Cherry, Clare Drake, Pat Quinn, Viktor Tikhonov

Under consideration (female): Karen Bye-Dietz, Danielle Goyette, Manon Rheaume, Kim St. Pierre, Vicky Sunohara

Our picks: Eric Lindros, Sergei Makarov, Alexander Yakushev, Danielle Goyette, Don Cherry, Viktor Tikhonov

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.