DeAndre Yedlin, Morgan Brian named U.S. Soccer Young Athletes of 2014

Thursday December 4th, 2014

DeAndre Yedlin has been named the 2014 U.S. Soccer Young Male Athlete of the Year, Morgan Brian has been named the 2014 U.S. Soccer Young Female Athlete of the Year and Gavin Sibayan has won Disabled Athlete of the Year honors, U.S. Soccer announced on Thursday.

Yedlin, 21, has made nine appearances for the U.S. men's national team, including three at this summer's World Cup in Brazil. In August, he finalized a four year, $4 million transfer deal to English team Tottenham Hotspur from the Seattle Sounders of MLS. He is expected to join the English club in advance of the 2015-2016 season.

"It's an absolute honor to win this award," said Yedlin. "I would like to thank my teammates, my family, and most of all the fans for the amazing support for out team."

WAHL: In 4-1 loss to Ireland, U.S. shows it must learn to handle success

Brian, 21, is the youngest player on the U.S. women’s national team and has scored two goals in nine starts and 13 appearances this year. She also helped the national team win the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying tournament and powered Virginia's second consecutive run to the NCAA Women's College Cup.

"The last two years playing with the National Team have been amazing. I've been fortunate to have so many talented people around me and I've learned so much from all of my teammates and coaches." Brian said.

Gavin Sibayan has been named this year's U.S. Soccer Disabled Athlete of the Year. Sibayan, a retired U.S. Army staff sergeant, appeared in every game of the 2014 Americas Cup and helped the U.S. Paralympic National Team earn a bronze medal.

"I'm honored," said Sibayan. "I have a lot pride for the U.S. and it's a big honor to just play on the team. The group we have assembled is a great bunch of guys. We're getting better and making some great progress on our team right now."

Tim Howard autobiography: Brad Friedel tried to block Man U transfer

U.S. Soccer has given awards to its young male and female athletes of the year since 1998, and the disabled athlete of the year has been awarded since 2012.



SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.