Abby Wambach, Keylor Navas named top CONCACAF players

Tuesday December 23rd, 2014

CONCACAF announced the awards for its top players on Tuesday morning, with American forward Abby Wambach bringing home Female Player of the Year honors. 

Wambach earned the edge over midfielder Shirley Cruz of Costa Rica and forward Charlyn Corral Mexico, who finished second and third, respectively. Last year, Wambach finished second in the voting behind fellow American Alex Morgan. 

Morgan and Wambach were among the ten finalists for this year's award, along with teammates Carli Lloyd, Hope Solo and Lauren Holiday, who was named U.S. Soccer's Female Athlete of the Year earlier this month.

• STRAUS: Michael Bradley's drive runs deep

Costa Rica goalkeeper Keylor Navas brought home the Male Player of the Year award. 

Navas' countryman, forward Bryan Ruiz, and United States men's national team goalkeeper Tim Howard rounded out the top three. Other finalists were Celso Borges (Costa Rica), Joel Campbell (Costa Rica), Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Guillermo Ochoa (Mexico), Giovani Dos Santos (Mexico) and Rafael Marquez (Mexico).

• Adu leaves Serbian club after six-month, one-game stint

While Howard fell short in the Player of the Year voting by media, national team coaches, captains and fans, he was able to pick up his second straight CONCACAF Goalkeeper of the Year award.

American Mark Geiger, the first American to referee a knockout stage game in the World Cup, was named Referee of the Year.

- Josh Sanchez

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.