Ronaldo, Messi, Neuer lead FIFPro World XI team

Monday January 12th, 2015

FIFA announced its 2014 FIFPro World XI team, comprised of the best players in the world at each position, on Monday.

The team, which was announced at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2014 in Zurich, Switzerland, is voted on by more than 23,000 members of national players' unions. 

The forwards are Ballon d’Or finalists Lionel Messi of Barcelona, Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Bayern Munich’s Arjen Robben; The three midfielders are Barcelona’s Andrés Iniesta, Toni Kroos from Bayern Munich and Real Madrid and Ángel Di María, who played for Real Madrid and Manchester United last year.

The defenders on the team are Bayern Munich’s Phillipp Lahm, David Lutz from Chelsea and Paris Saint-Germain, PSG’s Thiago Silva and Sergio Ramos of Real Madrid; The goalkeeper is Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer, another finalist for the Ballon d’Or.

Seven team members (Messi, Neuer, Ronaldo, Lahm, Silva, Ramos and Iniesta) of the 2013 team also made this year's squad.

- Scooby Axson

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.