Nadine Kessler beats Abby Wambach for Women's Player of the Year award

0:48 | Planet Futbol
Cristiano Ronaldo awarded Ballon d'Or
Monday January 12th, 2015

Germany's Nadine Kessler was named the FIFA Women's Player of the Year on Monday, beating out Brazil's Marta and the United States' Abby Wambach for the honor.

Kessler, 26, is the second straight player from Germany to win the award after goalkeeper Nadine Angerer won the award last season. Kessler led Wolfsburg to championships in the women's Bundesliga and UEFA Women's Champions League. She previously won the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe Award.

Kessler received 17.52 percent of the vote, while Marta followed with 14.16 percent and Wambach garnered 13.33 percent.

• Cristiano Ronaldo wins second straight Ballon d'Or

Kessler and Germany overtook the United States for the No. 1 spot in the FIFA Women's World Ranking to end 2014. It is the first time since March 2008 that the U.S. has not held to the top spot.

Marta, who won the award each year from 2006 through 2010, scored two goals for Tyreso FF in the UEFA Women's Champions League loss to Wolfsburg.

Wambach, the 2012 winner, scored a team-leading 14 goals on the year in international competition.

Wambach concedes WWC likely to be played on turf

- Paul Palladino

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.