By SI Wire
March 16, 2015

FIFA has announced that the Olympic soccer tournament for the 2016 Rio Olympics will take place in six cities and seven stadiums. The tournament will begin on August 3 and will continue through August 20. 

Included in the six cities is Manaus, which is in the Amazon and created brutal conditions during the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The iconic Maracana Stadium is also one of the stadiums that will host matches during the tournament. 

The host cities and venues are Belo Horizonte (Mineirão Stadium), Brasilia (Mané Garrincha Stadium), Manaus (Amazônia Arena), Rio de Janeiro (Maracanã Stadium and Olympic Stadium), Salvador (Fonte Nova Arena) and São Paulo (Corinthians Arena)

• NYCFC’s home debut finally gives city its soccer fix

“The Olympic Football Tournaments will be a fantastic opportunity to revive the great atmosphere seen during the 2014 FIFA World Cup, not only in Rio de Janeiro but also in the other five cities. They did an excellent job in 2014, and now they can use the World Cup stadiums and infrastructure already in place to unite the country for a major event once more. I am confident that the participating teams will have an unforgettable Olympic experience,” said Marco Polo Del Nero, chairman of the Organizing Committee for the Olympic Football Tournaments.

There will be 58 matches played in the tournament. 

Ibrahimovic apologizes for anti-France outburst

- Josh Sanchez

You May Like