Red Bulls score on trick corner kick; MLS says it shouldn't have counted
The New York Red Bulls opened up the set-piece playbook to score on the Chicago Fire Wednesday night, even if MLS claimed the goal shouldn't have stood almost immediately after.
With the Red Bulls trailing the Fire 2–1 in the second half at Toyota Park, Ronald Zubar finished off a trick play off a corner kick, and amid confusion, referees awarded the equalizer.
Lloyd Sam sneakily touched the ball while it was set in the corner position and then carried on as if it were business as usual ahead of a conventional set piece. Sacha Kljestan then dribbled immediately from the corner flag and crossed, where Zubar reached back and flicked home a rightfooted one-timer from the center of the box that found the back of the net while the Fire looked around in bewilderment.
On the MSG broadcast in the New York region, announcer Steve Cangialosi relayed word from the MLS league office and PRO (the Professional Referees Organization) that the goal should not have stood. What likely prompted that is that Sam touched the ball more than once while settling the ball by the flag prior to Kljestan carrying out of the corner, which should have nullified the play. The player initially taking the corner can only kick the ball once.
Even so, the goal stood and tied the game at 2–2. No matter, Kennedy Igboananike scored his second goal of the game later on, and the Fire won 3–2, earning three precious points with the club in perilous position, as it sits last in the Eastern Conference. Chicago trails Montreal for the sixth and final playoff place by just two points, but three other teams are in between the two, and the Impact have three games in hand.