New York Red Bulls' Luis Robles wins MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

7:26 | Planet Futbol
Goalkeeper Luis Robles on the Red Bulls' surprising season
Thursday November 19th, 2015

New York Red Bulls' Luis Robles was named MLS Goalkeeper of the Year on Thursday, beating finalists David Ousted and Bill Hamid to become the club's first recipient of the award since Tim Howard in 2001.

Robles won the media vote (36.6%) and player vote (23.8%) but was second to Hamid among club management (29.1% to 23.6%). Hamid was vying to become the first back-to-back winner of the award and join Zach Thornton, Joe Cannon, Pat Onstad and Donovan Ricketts as two-time winners.

The 31-year-old Robles, who has played in every minute of every regular season game for the least three years, backstopped the Red Bulls to the Supporters' Shield, with the club conceding an Eastern Conference-low 43 goals this season. He posted nine clean sheets for Jesse Marsch's side.

Robles and the Red Bulls return to action Sunday in the first leg of the MLS Eastern Conference final against the Columbus Crew.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.