MLS 2015 Best XI features 10 first-time honorees

Sunday November 29th, 2015

Major League Soccer revealed the 2015 MLS Best XI, which recognizes the league’s top 11 players.

The players were nominated by other MLS players, club management, and media members. Based on the voting breakdown, the league used a 3-4-3 formation, though all three defenders were center back.

In total, eight different clubs were represented in the group and ten players earned first-time nominations. LA Galaxy striker Robbie Keane is the only player who had previously earned the Best XI honor. This year’s Best XI combined to score 101 goals and added 80 combined assists.

The New York Red Bulls, FC Dallas and Columbus Crew, who are all playing the conference finals on Sunday, each had two players selected to the team.

Below is a list of the 11 players selected. 

Goalkeeper – Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

Defender – Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact)

Defender – Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Defender – Matt Hedges (FC Dallas)

Midfielder – Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City)

Midfielder – Fabian Castillo (FC Dallas)

Midfielder – Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls)

Midfielder – Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew SC)

Forward – Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)

Forward – Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)

Forward – Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.