April 14, 2013
Kyle Larson led for 187 laps and held of Joey Logano to take the checkered flag at Rockingham.
Jim R. Bounds/AP

ROCKINGHAM, N.C. (AP) -- Kyle Larson picked up his first NASCAR national series win by holding off Joey Logano on the final restart of the Truck Series race at Rockingham Speedway.

Logano was closing in on Larson when a collision between Timothy Peters and Ryan Sieg brought out the caution with two laps remaining.

Logano had fresher tires and Larson was thought to be a sitting duck for the green-white-checkered restart. Instead, Logano misjudged Larson's start and Larson drove away to the win after leading 187 laps.

Logano was second after flying to the race from Saturday's night's fifth-place finish at Texas.

Brendan Gaughan was third and was followed by Johnny Sauter, and Chase Elliott.

NASCAR asked to see Ron Hornaday Jr. after the race to discuss his wrecking Darrell Wallace Jr. under caution.

You May Like