Juan Pablo Montoya wins 99th Indianapolis 500

0:54 | Racing
Juan Pablo Montoya wins 99th Indianapolis 500
Monday May 18th, 2015

Juan Pablo Montoya won the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday. It is his second career Indy 500 victory, his first coming fifteen years ago, in 2000.

Montoya pulled into the lead with just four laps left in the race after starting from the number 15 position. He took advantage of a bump between Will Power and Scott Dixon to jump ahead. He was as far behind as 30th early on in the race, gradually worked his way back into the pack and closed things out impressively.

Montoya's Penske teammate Power finished second and Charlie Kimball third. Dixon started in the pole position and finished fourth. Graham Rahal was fifth. Dixon and Power spent much of the race's final stretch dueling for the lead.

• Indy 500 blog: the day in posts from Indianapolis Speedway

Entering the race, Dixon was fourth in the IndyCar standings, followed by Montoya, Power and Helio Castroneves, who finished seventh.

Defending champion Ryan Hunter-Reay finished 15th. In total, there were five former Indy 500 winners in the field: Hunter-Reay, Dixon, Castroneves, Montoya and Tony Kanaan​, who crashed in lap 153.


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.