Skip to main content

Highlights from the 74th running of the Indianapolis 500

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

RACE: 74th Indianapolis 500

DATE: May 27, 1990

WINNER: Arie Luyendyk

AVERAGE SPEED: 185.981 mph

SI Recommends

WHAT HAPPENED: Luyendyk, driving for Doug Shierson Racing, took the lead with 32 laps to go to earn his first victory in championship-level competition. The Dutchman was the second consecutive foreign-born winner, the first time since 1965 and 1966 that happened. Luyendyk completed the 500 miles at an average speed of 185.981 mph, making it ''The Fastest 500,'' a record that stood until 2013.

NOTABLE: Much of the month of May was rained out, including the first weekend of time trials. Defending race winner and pole-sitter Emerson Fittipaldi dominated the first half of the race and was trying to become the first back-to-back winner in 20 years. But a tire issue dropped him a lap down and he finished third. Jeff Andretti tried to become the fourth member of the Andretti family to qualify for the same race, but he was bumped on the final day of time trials. It was the first Indy 500 presided over by Tony George, who was named president of Indianapolis Motor Speedway at the start of the year.