May 02, 2016

RACE: 76th Indianapolis 500

DATE: May 24, 1992

WINNER: Al Unser Jr.

AVERAGE SPEED: 134.477 mph

WHAT HAPPENED: Unser had a thrilling battle with Scott Goodyear in the closing laps and held on by 0.043 seconds for the closest finish in Indy history. Unser, driving for Galles-Kraco Racing, became the first second-generation driver to win the Indy 500 and the third member of the Unser family to win the race. It was a crash-filled race from the start as pole-sitter Roberto Guerrero crashed on the pace lap and 13 cars were ultimately eliminated during crashes.

NOTABLE: Michael Andretti led 160 laps and had a 30-second lead in the debut of the Ford Cosworth XB engine when his fuel pump failed with 11 laps remaining. Nelson Piquet suffered serious leg injuries in a crash during practice, while Pancho Carter and Hiro Matsushita were both injured in their own crashes. Jovy Marcelo, a rookie, was fatally injured in a practice session. The race marked the final Indy 500 for A. J. Foyt, Rick Mears, Tom Sneva and Gordon Johncock. A race-record 10 former winners started in the field.

You May Like