Report: NHL, NHLPA discuss new realignment plan for next season

Sunday February 24th, 2013

The National Hockey League and their player's association are discussing new plans for realignment for the 2013-14 season which would move the Columbus Blue Jackets and the Detroit Red Wings to a proposed Eastern Conference from the Western Conference. Any plan for realignment must be approved by the NHL Board of Governors.

According to the CBC and, in one eight team conference would be the Red Wings, Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Tampa Bay Lightning and Florida Panthers.

Another eight-team conference would include Carolina Hurricanes, the Blue Jackets, New Jersey Devils, the New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals.

One Western seven-team conference would have the Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues and Winnipeg Jets.

The other Western seven-team conference would have Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks and Vancouver Canucks.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.