By Kimie Bunyasaranand
March 14, 2013

The NHL's Board of Governors approved a realignment plan for the league to go into effect for the 2013-2014 season, reports Under the plan, all 30 teams will visit each other at least once.

The board voted to create a structure that was more "geographically appropriate" -- two conferences and four divisions.

The Detroit Red Wings and Columbus Blue Jackets are moving to the Eastern Conference to provide them the ability to play the majority of their games against teams in the same time zone. The Winnipeg Jets are moving to the Western Conference for the same reason.

The Dallas Stars are staying in the Western Conference, but moving into a division that includes five other teams from the Central time zone.

The Stanley Cup Playoffs will now be a division-based, wild-card system.

You May Like