Kris Letang, P.K. Subban, Ryan Suter are Norris finalists

Tuesday May 7th, 2013

The NHL has announced this year's finalists for the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the defenseman that demonstrates the "greatest all-around ability" at the position.

The finalists are the Penguins' Kris Letang, the Canadians' P.K. Subban and the Wild's Ryan Suter. It is a first-time nomination for all three finalists -- the first year that has happened. The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Some traditional nominees like the Bruins' Zdeno Chara (the 2009 winner) and the Predators' Shea Weber (who was a runner-up the past two seasons) were noticeably absent from the field:

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.